Gecko Spirit Song! (Creativity)


GECKO SPIRIT! Something that we apparently need more of at OSC… I decided to take on the challenge of creating a Gecko Spirit Song. It wasn’t a pre-planned type of event, it just happened to occur.

My Gecko song that I have written is more of a parody to Song 2 by Blur. All I did was write some “spiritual” lyrics/words that relate to OSC, Colombo. (You can find the lyrics down below)

Anyways, to make this an official part of my CAS Blog, I want to perform this at an assembly in the near future. I’ve already spoken with Mr. Shipely, and he said that I would need to audition in front of the “assembly committee” before the 23rd of September. This shouldn’t be a problem, I just need to find time to practice this with a band. I’ve already spoken to a few students around OSC and they seem like they would be fine with performing it with me.

I’ll be posting my progress in the near future.

Here are the lyrics to my song:

Gecko Spirit Song – By Skylor Knoll
Actual song: Blur – Song 2 (Gecko Parody)

(Start the “Gecko Clapping” so that it fits with this introduction*)

GECKOS!
GECKOS!
GECKOS!
GECKOS!

We are the geckos.
From Colombo-
We represent
Our team spirit
Yeah!

GECKOS!
When I see that gold medal! GECKOS!
I’ll never let it ever go GECKOS!
I’ll try my best to play and win!
When I get knocked down I’ll find a way…
…To get back up and play!

Back for round two
We are one school
We are the best
Don’t you ever forget

GECKOS!
When I see that gold metal! GECKOS!
I’ll never let it ever go GECKOS!
I’ll try my best to play and win!
When I get knocked down I’ll find a way…
…To get back up and play!

(Return to the introduction “Gecko Clapping” until you want to end)

About Skylor Knoll

Hey, my name is Skylor Knoll. I’m 17 and I’m attending The Oversea’s School of Colombo (OSC). I'm currently studying under the IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) and I will remain here until I finish my senior year. When I graduate I hope that I will be fortunate enough to be accepted into UBC (University of British Columbia) to study forestry in Canada.

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment