Library Service: Session 2

Today’s Library Service went according to plan, the students went to their designated areas and worked on shelving/organizing. I’m actually a little relieved that the younger students (Grade 6) were able to learn how to catalog as quickly as they did.

The main activity that Charity and I brought up was, “Book Week”. Book week is a program that is organized by Mrs. Reina and Library Service to promote the use of text resources and more noticeably READING BOOKS!

In a group meeting, Charity and I discussed some of the possibilities for this year’s Book Week, such as “Poem Day” or “Comic Day” and so on. However, we both agreed before hand that it would be important to allow the members of library service also bring fresh ideas and make a contribution to this project. After a short moment to brainstorm ideas here is what some of the members of library service proposed:

– Poem Day
– Favorite Author Day
– Comic Day
– Science Fiction Day
– Fiction Day
– Favorite Book Day
– Favorite Cartoon/Anime

These are just some of the ideas that our group has. I’m very interested to see what other creative ideas they have.

Charity and I also explained about the different jobs that are required for Book Week. Eg. Publicity (Posters/Powerpoint/Movie)

For this year, Library Service is going to try to work with the SGA to collaboratively organize Book Week. (I’ll be updating this in future posts)

About Skylor Knoll

Hey, my name is Skylor Knoll. I’m 17 and I’m attending The Oversea’s School of Colombo (OSC). I'm currently studying under the IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) and I will remain here until I finish my senior year. When I graduate I hope that I will be fortunate enough to be accepted into UBC (University of British Columbia) to study forestry in Canada.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment