Final CAS Relfection

Final CAS reflection – When evaluating my CAS (Creativity Action and Service) element of the IBDP, I believe that I have grown and changed significantly over the past two years. I began this commitment in 11th Grade, in September 2010, and was somewhat unmotivated in the early stages. One of my first CAS activities was Library Service, which I eventually decided to pursue for the entire two years. I became a leader in this CAS activity. I went on to join the after school activity of Badminton in hopes of achieving more action and develop my personal fitness. In addition to fitness, I also gained in badminton skills. In addition, I developed a personal fitness regime which consisted of cardio and weight lifting exercises. From there I started giving guitar lessons to other students. Although this did not last long, it was a valuable learning experience because it taught me patience and responsibility. When we were in Grade 11, we participated in ‘Week Without Walls’ in January 2011. I took up a leadership role as the entertainment coordinator which involved organizing activities for OSC students as well as the local community members. This experience demonstrated achieving the eight prescribed CAS criteria. I went on to participate in other entertainment type of roles, such as being the Master of Ceremonies at the OSC Oscars and at various assemblies. I was promoted to a leadership position in Library Service in April, 2011. Later that month I had a resource conservation article published in the school paper. In Grade 12 I continued my leadership responsibilities with Library Service. In September, I participated in after school badminton again as well as SAISA football. Eventually, I was chosen to travel to Dhaka to represent OSC. We almost came third, but placed fourth due to missing the final penalty shot. In October I facilitated a UN Day workshop on children’s rights. In November I was the Master of Ceremonies in the Battle of the Bands, a fund raising event for cleft palate surgery in Sri Lanka. During this event, the Library Service was in charge of selling beverages and the profits were donated to the organization, Room to Read. In February, 2012, I assisted with the Charity Chic Fashion show by mentoring the Master of Ceremonies. This event was hosted by the CAS group, Hope for Kids – Cancer Hospital.
In retrospect, my experiences in the CAS program have enabled me to achieve the eight expectations in the IB CAS syllabus, as follows:

1. I increase my awareness of own strengths and areas for growth. This can be seen through all of my activities since I have grown through participating in them.

2. I certainly have undertaken new challenges. I believe the IB CAS program is the epitome of this since it provided many opportunities, challenges and learning experiences.

3. I planned and initiated many activities during the past two years, in my involvement with Library Service as well as in other activities.

4. I believe that the CAS program has strengthened my ability to work cooperatively and collaboratively with others.

5. I demonstrated perseverance and commitment to each of my CAS activities and gave more than was required of me.

6. I engaged in issues of global importance when I facilitated the UN Day workshop on child rights. I also promoted literacy in Sri Lanka by donating text supplies and funds to the organization, Room to Read.

7. In each of my activities, I consider the ethical implication of my actions, as an individual and also as a member of a community.

8. Finally, my experiences in the CAS program have enabled me to develop new skills, such as organization, leadership and working with others.

Ultimately, when I look back on these past two years, I feel a sense of accomplishment that would certainly have surprised me two years ago. I am thankful for the opportunity to study in the IB program, as well as the privilege of participating in IB CAS activities.

About Skylor Knoll

Hey, my name is Skylor Knoll. I’m 17 and I’m attending The Oversea’s School of Colombo (OSC). I'm currently studying under the IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) and I will remain here until I finish my senior year. When I graduate I hope that I will be fortunate enough to be accepted into UBC (University of British Columbia) to study forestry in Canada.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment