Library Service: Final Reflection

Library Service final reflection: – Looking back on the two years that I have participated in Library Service, originally under the leadership of Keiko, I have come to realize that this service has taught me patience and organization. I remember when I first joined I was reluctant since I consider it a serious and somewhat boring activity. But now I have gained an appreciation for text resources and literature in general and realize how important it is to be well organized when helping others access information.
When referring to the eight expectations in the IB CAS syllabus, I can say that I have achieved the eight prescribed expectations. First of all, I have certainly increased my awareness of my strengths and areas for growth. This can be seen in the strengthening of my own organizational skills and ability to work with others. Next, I have undertaken new challenges, such as promoting our CAS service during school assemblies as well as managing a small stall at the Battle of the Bands charity concert. It is apparent through my actions that I have planned and initiated activities which can be supported by the previously mentioned tasks. I believe that one of the strongest areas that I have developed is working collaboratively with others. I feel that since Library Service is particularly group-based, it gave me many opportunities to build this skill as well as develop meaningful friendships. I have shown perseverance and commitment because I attended every single meeting and gave extra time for CAS related activities. Although our Library Service CAS activity is primarily focused on the OSC community, we did donate funds and supplies to an organization that promotes reading in developing countries (Room to Read) and in doing so, we did our part to help promote literacy in Sri Lanka. When we were donating the funds, we considered the ethical implications of our actions. Finally, through this service I certainly developed new skills, such as organization, planning, leadership, working together, and promotion.

About Skylor Knoll

Hey, my name is Skylor Knoll. I’m 17 and I’m attending The Oversea’s School of Colombo (OSC). I'm currently studying under the IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) and I will remain here until I finish my senior year. When I graduate I hope that I will be fortunate enough to be accepted into UBC (University of British Columbia) to study forestry in Canada.

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment