Week Without Walls 2011 (WWW) Leader of Playing w/ Children

Samitha and I

Two Very Cool Kids

Interacting with the Students

Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

As leader of the group that would interact with the children at the school, it was my duty to plan an supervise an introductory orientation for the school children and the 11th grade students from OSC.

The games lasted approximately 25 – 30 minutes, which allowed the entire group to interact as one. Some of the games we played with the school students include, “Duck, Duck, Goose”, “Tag” and other miscellaneous passing games with small sport balls. Some of the areas of the activity that I thought were weak consist of the age and language differences between the school children and the 11thgrade.

For example, we were playing games that were designed for young children, but I believe that the concepts of most of the games such as the previously mentioned, “Duck, Duck, Goose” were too complicated for the younger minds at the school. In addition, the language barrier was probably the largest dissimilarity; it caused miscommunication between the two groups. In some events it was difficult to distinguish whether the understood what we were trying to organize, although my group had translators aiding our cause, I was not sure whether they were enjoying the activities as much as we hoped.

 

About Skylor Knoll

Hey, my name is Skylor Knoll. I’m 17 and I’m attending The Oversea’s School of Colombo (OSC). I'm currently studying under the IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) and I will remain here until I finish my senior year. When I graduate I hope that I will be fortunate enough to be accepted into UBC (University of British Columbia) to study forestry in Canada.

Posted on January 30, 2011, in CAS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment